What I’m Reading

I just got back from a two-week vacation.

While I was away I read (or re-read:
the YA classic, The Outsiders, by S.E. Hinton. Classic for a reason

Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers, by Mary Roach. Revolting as you might guess, intriguing and snort out loud funny in parts. The first half was better than the second. I left it in Nairobi for my brother-in-law’s perplexed and intrigued Kenyan girlfriend

Innumeracy: Mathematical Illiteracy and its Consequences, by John Allen Paulos. I might finally be able to resolve the argument my sister and I have about coin tosses and if each is independent do the odds of each flip change in a series of flips. (Yes, I’m pretty sure now it does).

I tried to read Perdido Street Station by China Mieville and failed. Yes I know it’s won awards, but it was too bloated to read on a plane. I don’t know if I’ll go back and try again. I have to like or at least relate to the characters in order to read a book and I didn’t care about any of them on first reading.

Currently Reading:
(Re-reading) The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin. Because the first time I read it for pleasure and now I’m reading it for craft and to see if all the questions raised by the narrative are actually answered by the ending. And also to see how I feel about the ending the second time. I find it hard to keep up my suspension of disbelief for really grandiose (2nd definition in the Merriam Webster, not the first) endings. (For example, I needed two readings of The Gate of the Gods by Martha Wells for me to like the ending of the trilogy). Besides she lives in Brooklyn, like me! And she’s an author of color who speaks on race and seems all around awesome. I even bought her book, which I don’t do often (thank you public libraries).

TBR:
Cyteen, by C.J. Cherryh because it keeps getting mentioned on blogs I’m reading and I still love her Morgaine novels (apparently these are out of print and I can’t link to them. Atrocious! If you can find them: Gate of Ivrel, Well of Shiuan, Fires of Azeroth and Exile’s Gate). I loved the Faded Sun series as a teenager, but haven’t been able to re-read them as an adult because of all the pain in them. And while I haven’t kept up with Foreigner, the early books are excellent.

Bloodshot by Cherie Priest. I hate vampires, but I loved Boneshaker and it was the only other book by her in my library. (Good lord, am I going to have to buy a kindle to read Clementine? Hard copies start at $65 on Amazon). Ohh she has a new book coming out in September!

Inda by Sherwood Smith. Re-read so I can finish the series. This keeps getting pushed back because it gets into my head and I can’t write with it in my head. That’s a good thing for the story, not as good for my writing.

Leave a Reply

