Over on her blog, Alison Cherry has a Senior superlatives: literary edition post, awarding some of the older books in her extensive collection superlatives in interesting categories. I like the idea so much I’m stealing it (the odd categories are my own):

The Book I Have Owned the Longest

The Forgotten Door

This is probably a tie between The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe (1970 Collier Macmillian printing with the Roger Hane illustrated cover) and the book I’m actually going to mention, The Forgotten Door, by Alexander Key, but the latter is not as well known. I loved, loved, LOVED this book as a kid. It’s a portal fantasy, too, but holds up MUCH better than TLWW. I can’t remember a time before I read this book; it is as if I had always already read it.

The Book that Should Be On My Shelves but Isn’t

Griffin and Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence by Nick Bantock. This is really my sister’s book, but since we shared a room growing up and still have joint custody of a Pooh Christmas ornament, I think it belongs here. Somewhere in all Imageour moves it got misplaced. This is a gorgeously illustrated, mysterious, pop-up epistolary novel for adults. Kind of like a multi-media book before there were multi-media books. Kinda.

The Book My Husband Most Often Tries to Claim as His Own and Steal

Crepusculario, Pablo Neruda‘s first book of poetry. I love the size (4 1/2 by 6 1/2) and feel of this slim volume issued the year I was born (originally published in 1923). My brother-in-Imagelaw gave it to me the first time I went to Chile to visit my then-maybe-boyfriend, later-husband. I think my husband married me just to keep this book in the family.

Book with One of My All-time Favorite Female Heros

The Wizard Hunters, by Martha Wells. Tremaine is one of my favorite heroes of either Imagegender. Trenchant, competent, has morbid sense of humor, knows how to pick a lock, fire a gun and kill a man, isn’t very interested in magic, gets to fly a dirigible before steampunk was a thing, doesn’t damsel, but is in no way perfect. Need I say more?

From My Bookshelf

One thought on “From My Bookshelf

  1. Mark says:

    Oh, Nicole, your words about Crepusculario just softened my heart this morning. How many beautiful love stories I’ve heard that revolve around interactions with his poetry one way of another all around the world…

    You might want to check out our project on Pablo Neruda, I think you’ll like it: http://www.redpoppy.net/pablo_neruda.php

    paz, pan, flores, y amor,
    Mark

Leave a Reply

