I Was Not Told About This, Revisted

A probable ancestor of all today's pedigree Bl...

A probable ancestor of all today’s pedigree Bloodhounds, 1902 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A few months ago Jenny at Jenny’s Books posted “I was not told about this“:

And then one day, years later, something reminds you of this lesson you learned from a book, and you think, Well wait. Upon reflection that is probably not a real thing, but it’s much too late for this sort of critical thinking, because whatever it is has put down deep roots in your consciousness.

She asked for people to add the things they learned from books that aren’t true in the comments. I really really wanted to add something because I’m sure I have lots of these rattling around in my head (like toes up while riding a horse as one commenter noted). But my brain fails me at times like this, reliably, predictably fails me. It just doesn’t work like that.

But today, I was reading Winterling by Sarah Prineas (read it! it’s good!) and I thought, By Jove, I think I’ve got it! Rook, one of the main characters, runs up a stream to throw the wolves chasing him off his scent (hey, Jenny’s post starts out with The Wolves of Willoughby Chase. Do two wolves make a thing?) and I remembered the Mythbusters‘ “Dog Myths” episode 74 (synopsis) and Foil the Bloodhound.

They tried this. It didn’t work. Characters do this all the time in books and movies. So if you’re ever being tracked by bloodhounds, running through water will only get your feet wet. Your best bet? Run all over a crowded city, get on the subway, go where there are lots of people.

2 thoughts on “I Was Not Told About This, Revisted

  1. Jenny says:

    Wait what! That’s not real? I don’t understand! I don’t understand! I totally thought that was a real thing. You can’t do that? To throw the dogs off the scent?

    • Nicole Lisa says:

      I know! I know! It’s everywhere! It’s really worth checking out the Mythbusters’ episode. Even they were surprised. I think they tried spraying perfume, leaving hot pepper, changing clothes, running up a stream and running through a city. The only one that worked at all was the last. Plus they tested other dog myths like distracting guard dogs with steaks, etc.

Leave a Reply

